2024 Generation adidas Cup to Host 49 Different Clubs From 15 Countries in Tournament’s 15th Edition

2024 ga cup

The Inter Miami CF Academy presented by Baptist Health is set to participate in the 2024 Generations Adidas Cup, with Major League Soccer and MLS NEXT unveiling the highly anticipated details for the 2024 Generation Adidas Cup today, promising the most expansive and globally diverse field in the tournament's esteemed 15-year legacy. This premier international youth competition will showcase talent from every MLS academy alongside representatives from an unprecedented 49 club academies hailing from a remarkable 15 countries across four continents. A record-breaking 80 teams, with 40 in each age group (U-17 and U-15), will compete at IMG Academy in Bradenton, FL, from March 30 to April 7.

Inter Miami’s U-15 and U-17 sides will take part in the tournament belonging in Group B alongside Sporting Kansas City, Real Salt Lake, and Atlético Nacional.

The complete 2024 Generation adidas Cup schedule and standings will be available HERE.

A total of 28 matches, encompassing both Championship fixtures across the U-17 and U-15 age brackets, will be available for exclusive live streaming on MLS Season Pass.

The championship will be available for live streaming on MLS Season Pass, the esteemed subscription service from Apple and Major League Soccer on the Apple TV app, accessible in over 100 countries and regions. Further broadcast particulars, including match schedules on MLS Season Pass, will be disclosed in the lead-up to the event.

The Generation adidas Cup has propelled stars onto the international stage. Standouts such as Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes / C.D. Guadalajara), Taha Habroune (Columbus Crew), and Gabriel Slonina (Chicago Fire FC / Chelsea FC) have left an indelible mark on past editions, making significant contributions to the U.S. Youth National Teams at both the 2023 FIFA U-17 and U-20 World Cups. Noteworthy international luminaries who have graced the Generation adidas Cup include 2022 FIFA World Cup winners Julián Álvarez (River Plate / Manchester City) and Enzo Fernández (River Plate / Chelsea).

Charles Altchek, MLS Executive Vice President, emphasized, "The Generation adidas Cup represents MLS' continued commitment to player development, and providing the best young players in North America the chance to compete against top international teams.”

Competition Format 

Forty teams, structured into 10 groups of four, will engage in competition across each of the two age divisions. Group allocations will be determined through random draws, utilizing designated buckets categorized by division for MLS academies, while international clubs will undergo random selection. A total of sixteen teams will progress to the single-elimination championship bracket, consisting of the ten group victors and the top six second-place finishers. Subsequently, the next-best 16 teams will enter a consolation bracket, with the final eight teams contending in consolation groups to ensure intensified competition.

Each participating team in the 2024 Generation adidas Cup is guaranteed seven 60-minute matches, consisting of two 30-minute halves. Championship matches in both age categories will extend to 70 minutes. In the event of a tie at the conclusion of regulation time, matches will proceed directly to a penalty-kick shootout.

After the conclusion of the tournament, awards will be presented in both age groups, recognizing the Generation adidas Cup Most Valuable Player, Top Scorer, and the Generation adidas Cup Best Goalkeeper presented by Allstate. The Generation adidas Cup Rising XI presented by BODYARMOR Sports Drink will highlight the top-performing players from each position at the competition.

U-17 Division International Participants 

Atlas F.C. - (Mexico)

Atlético Nacional - (Colombia)

AZ Alkmaar - (Netherlands)

Flamengo - (Brazil)

HNK Hajduk Split - (Croatia)

Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors - (Japan)

CF Monterrey - (Mexico)

Club Nexaca - (Mexico)

PSV - (Netherlands)

River Plate - (Argentina)

U-15 Division International Participants

Arsenal FC - (England)

Brøndy IF - (Denmark)

KRC Genk - (Belgium)

Manchester United FC - (England)

CF Monterrey - (Mexico)

Club Nexaca - (Mexico)

FC Nordsjælland - (Denmark)

Sporting Clube de Portugal - (Portugal)

Tolouse FC - (France)

Valencia CF - (Spain)